girl+geek


Fanboys (the movie) delayed AGAIN
January 18, 2008, 1:03 pm
Filed under: Movies | Tags: ,

I was wondering why I hadn’t seen or heard any advertising for the movie that was supposed to open today.

Turns out it’s being pushed back yet again.

The film takes place in 1998 and follows a group of friends who venture to Skywalker Ranch in order to steal Episode I: The Phantom Menace before its release so their friend can see it before he dies of cancer.

TheForce.net reports that they are re-editing the film in order to TAKE OUT THE CANCER PLOT.

I think this is absolutely ridiculous. I won’t go on about it because pretty much everything I feel is already stated in the article below.

Check it out and let me know what you think.
[source]

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hadn’t heard of this film before now. It sounds like it would be good, but I don’t think I would like it without the cancer plot to be honest. Why would I care about nerds just stealing a Star Wars movie for no good reason…?

Comment by Patch

Exactly!
There are tons of heist films and the cancer plot is what made this one different and gave the audience an emotional investment in the journey.
Why on earth would someone edit out the emotional heart of a film?

Comment by Erin

I wouldn’t even see it as a heist film I’d be interested in. I mean, I LOVE heist films. They can be great, but a heist film about stealing a Star Wars movie? Come on…

Well, at least they are showing both versions. Hopefully the viewers will let them know that they like the version with the cancer plot more.

Comment by Patch




Leave a Reply

